top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBharati Iyer

PASSING 5 INDIAN HYGIENE PRACTICES ON TO KIDS

Covid-19 is a wakeup call on many fronts. Personally, it got me thinking about what my grandmother’s generation followed rather strictly, and how a lot of the Indian hygiene practices echo with what scientists now recommend we do in light of the current pandemic.

If there’s anything quintessentially Indian that I’d like my kids to take with them wherever they go, it’s not our religion or software engineering, but the following practices.


Power of Namaste: Don’t worry, I’m not about to lecture about the philosophical significance of Namaste. I’m merely pointing out that it is a respectful gesture and perfectly good greeting while avoiding ‘unnecessary’ contact. I leave what is necessary and unnecessary to the kids as they grow up, but I hope they learn to respect physical boundaries and maintain reasonable distance with strangers/ first time meet-ers who could be potential carriers. There, I said it!

Give the boot to your boots: Asian cultures generally consider it rude to walk in to their home with footwear. I believe it’s not so much a sign of disrespect but simply unhygienic. One’s boots are the worst carriers of all sorts of dirt, animal poop, bacteria and even viruses. The best way to minimize that exposure in your home, is to leave the pair out or on a shoe rack.

Not just tissue for tushie: I do not want to overemphasis the importance of the Indian morning ablutions to the kids. However, the ideal routine goes like this: wake up, brush teeth, followed by the big job and an immediate bath, only after which one prays and has breakfast. My kids are going to practice at least the middle two in that order. When a bath/shower is not possible, they are to wash their bottoms with water and soap because tissue is just not enough! When you are required to wash your hands thoroughly after using the toilet even when there has not been direct contact, imagine your bum?!

The ultimate solution called H2O (pun intended): I recall even as a 1st grader, my parents teaching me to walk straight into the bathroom (after placing my shoes on the rack of course) to have a good wash. It didn’t matter where I had been, to school, cousin’s home or even the temple, yes the place of worship. We wash hands, feet, face and change into fresh pair of clothes. Sooner or later my kids too will realize that it is a simple yet effective way to maintain good hygiene.

As a general rule: washing hands before and after meals, showering after a haircut, and after visiting crematorium or funeral is also advised.

Interact, not intereat: I fully appreciate cultures or families that share a meal or even an ice-cream for that matter, to promote bonding. Having said that, the transference of bacteria is a big deal in my limited view (or upbringing). Maybe my kids can find other creative ways to bond and spend quality time with loved ones?



115 views8 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page