top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBharati Iyer

FINDING ME-TIME WITH AN INFANT

It’s often challenging to find time to just catch up with my girlfriends or take a nice bath with an infant at home. There are some things that have worked successfully and some are work in progress. Here are few reminders for new moms like me:

Prioritizing yourself – Sometimes it’s up to me to decide what to do with the little window of time that suddenly becomes available. I could choose to give myself priority and finish watching that movie or choose to do the damn laundry.

Planning ahead – Right, so sometimes ‘mom proposes but baby disposes’. However, if there’s something I really want to do later in day I wrap up most chores as early as possible. For example, if I plan on going on a hike in the evening, I make dinner along with lunch, load the dishwasher etc., and then feed her well right before I take off.

Watching the intake – When breastfeeding, there is no way I can eat what I want and then expect her to nap, well, like a baby. By now I know she doesn’t do well with garbanzo beans or that second cup of coffee. So, if I’d like her to be non-gassy and sleep seamlessly, I have to watch what I eat.


Watching the anxiety - The days I especially feel tired or get impatient for her to doze off, she tends be extra clingy, fussy, cranky. It’s like she has these inviable antennas. So, I remind myself to take my time with her and then move to me only if time permits.

Seeking help - Seeking help is one of the best decisions thus far. I no longer call myself a do-it-all supermom or feel guilty about it. I’d rather rest, go to the salon or just sit and stare at the walls. In any case, if dad and grandparents are more than willing to spend time with her, why shouldn’t I facilitate more of that?!


Massage & Bath – Both my kids enjoyed their oil massages and warm baths as infants. They also enjoyed a three-hour nap after that. Isn’t that a win-win situation for baby and me? Although I haven’t had to, I would consider giving her a massage and bath if she’s restless or

I desperately need me-time.

Compromising – No matter how much I plan and remind myself to do things mentioned above, there are times when she just won’t be happy by herself or nap. At such times, me time includes her. I sew, I paint, I read, I exercise, even candle light dinner with dad, all while intermittently feeding or playing with her. It’s been fun too.



114 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page